Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is an ancient system of Yoga that dates back several thousand years taught by Vamana Rishi (Depicted in Yoga Korunta). This text was passed on by a line of gurus imparted by Sri T. Krishnamacharya in the early 1900’s by his Guru Rama Mohan Brahmachari and later passed down to Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, the founder of the Ashtanga Yoga Institute in Mysore, India, Sri Saraswathi Jois and R. Sharath Jois.
Ashtanga yoga is generally practiced daily, six times a week which involves synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures.

Ashtanga Yoga Asana Sequence


Opening Chant



Closing Chant


A necessary component of breathing and engaging the body correctly in the asanas is mula and uddiyana bandha. ‘Bandha’ means lock or bind, and refers to holding the body’s strength and energy together with mula bandha, located at the anus, and uddiyana bandha, located inside the waist.
Correct application of these two bandhas significantly increases the benefits of both the asanas and the breathing. Without the bandhas yoga practice is far less effective

In the practice of asanas there are three places for attention and effort (‘tri,’ meaning three and ‘sthana,’ meaning place): asana (posture), breathing, and drsti (gazing place). These foundational actions form the basis of purification and stability derived from yoga practice.

1) Standing Asanas

  • Samasthiti
    Standing still
  • Surya Namaskara (A & B)
    Sun salutation
  • Padangushtasana
    Thumb to foot pose
  • Pada hastasana
    Hand to foot pose
  • Utthita Trikonasana
    Extended triangle pose
  • Parivritta Trikonasana
    Revolved extended triangle pose
  • Utthita Parshvakonasana
    Extended side way angle pose
  • Parivritta Parshvakonasana
    Revolved extended side way angle pose
  • Prasarita Padottanasana (A, B, C & D)
    Spread feet stretching pose
  • Parshvottanasana
    Sideways stretching pose
  • Utthita Hasta Padangushtasana
    Extended triangle pose
  • Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana
    Half bound lotus stretching pose
  • Utkatanasana
    Uneven pose
  • Virabhadrasana (A & B)
    Warrior pose

2) Primary Series Sitting Asanas

  • Dandasana (Chaturanga Dandasana)
    Four-Limbed Staff Pose (staff means spine, body support)
  • Paschimattanasana (3 types)
    West-Back (extended-intense) stretching pose
  • Purvatanasana
    Est-Front (extended-intense) stretching pose
  • Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimattanasana
    Half bound lotus forward pose
  • Triang Mukhaekapada Paschima – ttanasana
    One foot transversely facing back forward stretch
  • Janu Shirshasana (A, B & C)
    Head to knee pose
  • Marichyasana (A, B, C & D)
    Marichya (Ray of light (of sun or moon)) pose
  • Navasana
    Boat pose
  • Bhujapidasana
    Arm pressure pose
  • Kurmasana
    Tortoise pose
  • Supta Kurmasana
    Sleeping tortoise pose
  • Garbha Pindasana
    Embryo in the womb pose
  • Kukkutasana
    Roster pose
  • Baddha Konasana
    Bound angle pose
  • Upavishta Konasana
    Seated angle pose
  • Supta Konasana
    Sleeping angle pose
  • Supta Padangushtasana
    Lateral sleeping thumb to foot pose
  • Ubhaya Padangushtasana
    Both thumbs to feet pose
  • Urdhva Mukha Paschimattanasana
    Upward facing forward stretch pose
  • Setu Bandhasana
    Bridge configuration (construction) pose
  • Urdhva Dhanurasana
    Elevated bow pose
  • Paschimattanasana
    West-Back (extended-intense) stretching pose

3) Intermediate Series Asanas

  • Pashasana
      Noose Pose 
  • Krounchasana
      Heron Pose 
  • Shalabhasana A, B
      Locust Pose
  • Bhekasana
      Frog Pose
  • Dhanurasana
      Bow Pose
  • Parsvadhanurasana
      Side Bow Pose
  • Ustrasana
      Camel Pose
  • Laghu Vajrasana
      Little Thunderbolt Pose
  • Kapotasana
      Dove Pose
  • Supta Vajrasana
      Sleeping Thunderbolt Pose
  • Bakasana
      Crow Pose
  • Bharadvajasana
      Bharadvāja’s Pose (name of a sage)
  • Ardha Matsyendraasana
      Half Matsyendraasana’s Pose (name of a sage)
  • Ekapada Sirsasana A, B, C
      One foot behind the head Pose
  • Dwipada Sirsasana B
      Two feet behind the head Pose
  • Yoga nidrasana
      Yoga Sleep Pose
  • Tittibhasana A, B, C
      Firefly Pose
  • Pincha Mayurasana
      Peacock Tail Pose
  • Karandavasana
      Himalayan Goose Pose
  • Mayurasana
      Peacock Pose
  • Nakrasana
      Crocodile Pose
  • Vatayanasana
      Horse Face Pose
  • Parighasana
      Iron Bar Pose
  • Gomukhasana A, B, C
      Cow Face Pose
  • Supta Urdhvapada Vajrasana A, B
      Sleeping Elevated Vajra’s Pose
  • Mukta Hasta Sirsasana A, B, C
      Open Hand Head Stand
  • Baddha Hasta Sirsasana A, B, C, D
      Bound Hand Head Stand
  • Urdhva Dhanurasana
      Elevated Bow Pose
  • Drop back to Urdhva Dhanurasana
  • Paschimattanasana
      West-Back (extended-intense) stretching pose

4) Finishing Asanas

  • Salamba Sarvangasana
    All limbs pose
  • Halasana
    Plow pose
  • Karnapidasana
    Ear pressure pose
  • Urdhva Padmasana
    Elevated lotus pose
  • Pindasana
    Embryo pose
  • Matsyasana
    Fish pose
  • Uttana Padasana
    Extended foot pose
  • Shirshasana
    Head standing pose
  • Baddha Padmasana
    Bound lotus pose
  • Yoga Mudra
    Yoga gesture
  • Padmasana
    Lotus pose
  • Uth Pluthi (Tolasana)
    Sprung up
  • Shavasana
    Corpse pose